About 20 minutes away, nested between the forest of Retz and the forest of Compiègne is the village of Pierrefonds.







    Pierrefonds is famously known for its amazing château, originally built during the 14th century, the château is dismantled during the 17th century. Bought by Napoléon III in 1811, the château is restored by French architect of the Romantic Era: Eugène Viollet-le-Duc. The visionary architect will turn the ruins into the magnificent and unique monument it is now, a perfect combination of new technics and gothic architectural details. In the village, there are plenty restaurants, ice cream shops and tea rooms. During the summer season, enjoy an incredible view on the château from a pedalo on the lake.





    © Crédit photo : CMN - Christian Gluckman

    • Générer en PDF
    • Suggérer